Friday Feature: Caroline Fontenot of Back Down South.

“Good looks below the Mason-Dixon line.”


Where are you from?

Spring, Texas – a suburb of Houston.

Where do you currently live?

Jasper, Georgia – an hour north of Atlanta.

Why did you decide to start Back Down South?

I was inspired by various street style blogs that I read, and I set out to find one based in the south. The few that I found were focused on specific cities, and both the content and photos were poor. I felt like there needed to be a southern style blog that showcased “good looks below the Mason-Dixon line.” With all the traveling I do as a photographer, I thought it would be a perfect way to capture looks of strangers, friends, and company owners around the south.

How extensive were your photography skills when you started Back Down South?

I’ve been a full time photographer for over three years now, so to quote Gaylord Focker, “I’d say strong to quite strong.”

What type of camera do you shoot with?

I just got the Canon 5D Mark III and am LOOOOVING it!

What’s your average work day like?

Coffee, music, blog reading, blog writing, online “shopping”, social networking, editing photos, and a trip to the gym (on the good days). I also design albums for my wedding clients, which has been taking up a lot of my time recently, as my summer and fall brides are now making final design approvals. On the non-office work days, I’m hanging out with awesome clients and having fun taking photos.

I see that you have a lot of men’s fashion shots on your blog- would you say that you encounter a larger number of well dressed men in the south?

I absolutely love menswear, so I just tend to keep my eye out for a well-dressed man, as they are rarer than a well-dressed lady. I would say though that the popular southern cities do seem to be crawling with a large amount of well-dressed men, and that makes me happy. I think young guys are starting to realize that it’s not feminine to give a damn about the way you look, and I’m glad for that.

What are you current favorite fashion trends?

Color blocking, and the “All-American look on men.” Though the latter is classic, I’m happy to see a resurgence. I’m actually loving almost every trend right now, specifically in menswear.

What are some fashion trends you can’t stand?

I’m so glad you asked. The correct answer is camo or cargo anything on anyone. When put together, I throw up in my mouth a little. I’m also noticing a ton of teenage boys wearing black tube socks with not only running shoes, but Sperry’s. This needs to stop.

What would you consider an underrated fashion accessory?

Glasses – for those of us “lucky” enough to have a prescription. I heard someone say once that they are like “lingerie for the face,” and I’ve agreed ever since. I wish I had about 20 pairs.

What shoe best describes you?

My beat-to-hell gold Sperry’s.

What do you like to do in your free time?

When I’m not taking photos for money, I’m taking photos on vacation. I also love books, attempting to be a foodie, sipping cocktails on the porch, and relaxing anywhere with my husband near.

What’s your life motto?

“Don’t just stand there, bust a move.”

Favorite star style.

Robin Scherbatsky from How I Met Your Mother. But, if I have to pick “real” people, I love Rachel McAdams and Janelle Monae.

What is your drink of choice?

For the spring & summer, a gin & tonic with lime.

Current Obsessions:

Ralph Lauren Cecelia wedges, Lilly Pulitzer Adeline dress, J.Crew toothpick in festival green, J.Crew schoolboy blazer, The Dirty Life: A Memoir on Farming, Food, and Love by Kristin Kimball.

You can check out Caroline and Back Down South here!

Leave a Reply

